My Life Lessons of Travelling Alone

Whenever I travel alone there are only two reactions that I received from the people around me. Either they feel envious and happy at the same time or they feel weird about it and asked me “Are you crazy?” or ” What’s on your mind?”.

These common things that I hear makes me wonder my reasons on going solo on a trip. Everyone has their reasons on doing things however I would like to pinpoint the life lessons of travelling alone.

  1. Going on your own in a place you did not know makes you more vigilant and alert. I have a confession to make. I am actually not good in directions. So when I did my first solo trip, I did a lot of research and I even bought a map of the place to make sure that I would not be lost.
  2. You’ll learn to rely with yourself.  Yes of course! I know that it’s really scary at first but it is worth a try. You would discover a lot about yourself and you may say these things: ” Woah! I can’t believe that I did that!” “I really survived it? What a blast!” “I am happy to travel alone.” Whatever travel destination you go alone, I know that you’re going to discover something that’s within you for a long time. You’ll never know at least you try, right?
  3. You’ll discover that you can socialize with other people whom unknown to you. Part of going into solo trips is meeting and talking to the unfamiliar faces which can be called as locals and fellow travelers. At first, I felt shy and awkward with the strangers that comes along the way but I conquered it because it is a necessary thing to do. Besides with the necessity, it made me feel that I want to mingle with them so I can know the places that I had visited with the locals and to learn from the experiences of the fellow travelers.
  4. You’ll value the goodness of humanity. This lesson is somewhat unexpected for me. I never thought that I did experience the ‘goodness’ of people. Before I start to explore and travel, I believed that people are not good. They only be doing good deeds to others because they can have something from them in return. These thoughts slowly vanished as I discover not only the picturesque places but the benevolence of the strangers that I thought would took advantage me.
  5. You’ll come back to your home with different feelings and views. As I go back to my world and to the usual things that I do, I know that something has been changed since I went to walk around the world. It might be physical or emotional but one thing is for sure… Travelling has done a great job in changing me for the better. I want to seek new places and meet new people. I want to revisit the sites that left a mark on my heart and mind.

There you go! These life lessons are from my personal experiences and thoughts yet I hope that I somewhat awaken your senses to do something different from the trivial things you do every once in a while. Your first steps would be difficult and scary but trust me, it would be worth it. Just like the famous author said,

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.”

– Mark Twain

So what are you waiting for? Go out from there and live out your life spontaneously once in a while.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑